FY-18 HCA Direct Commission

Guest NavySailorHCAHopeful

• Replies 102
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tony

I don't know how many applicants the board usually takes, sorry. Is this your first time applying? 

This is the first time I have applied. I have heard that the quotas are high this year as compared to the past few years. 

Guest falcon229

Yes this is my first time applying. I just graduated with my MBA minor Healthcare Management. From what I've been told by multiple recruiters 17 slots are available this FY (really high number), but still one of the most competitive boards in the Navy. Depending on how many candidates submitted kits will determine how competitive it will be. Have you heard the date when the actual board will convene? I know kits were due yesterday but haven't heard anything on when kits will be reviewed by board.

Also, if you don't mine me asking are you Navy Active duty and what's your job?  Years in service?

I haven't really been told very much either. I am not sure what makes one candidate stand out or not but a friend of mine who was selected 2 yrs ago said he believes the interviews are one of the most important factors. That is second hand info so take it as you like. 

Where did you go to grad school? 

Guest falcon229

Central Florida 3.51 Graduate GPA. Yeah I'm sure the interview with individuals already in the community will hold alot of weight. I did 3 interviews (04,05,05). I've heard that serving in leadership positions, and community involvement was important. 

• 1 month later...
Guest smiggs

Hey aactabreu,

Haven't heard anything from the recruiter either. Last word I received was my package was waiting for the board in December. Hopefully we hear some good news soon! Good luck bro!

Guest syaoran

Hi everyone,